How we integrate Mindfulness-based Practices

Source of the Seven Spiritual Practices

The Seven Practices approach is ideal for members of faith communities who can draw on such practices reflected in their own tradition, as well as those who are spiritual but not religious who recognise the abiding value of humanity’s spiritual heritage. By focusing on the practices we thus seek to promote both deeper interfaith dialogue and mutual interspiritual support for one another’s transpersonal development.

Based on over twenty years of research and spiritual practice, Dr Roger Walsh who is both a spiritual practitioner and scientist, discovered that each of the great spiritual traditions has both a common goal and seven common practices to reach that goal: recognising the sacred and divine that exist both within and around us.

The book Essential Spirituality integrates the spiritual principles of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, and Taoism and engages readers in spiritual exercises leading to a way of life in which kindness, love, joy, peace, vision, wisdom, and generosity become an ever-growing part of everything you do.

Practice 1: Redirecting Motivation

Practice 2: Transforming Emotions

Practice 3: Living Ethically

Practice 4: Training Attention

Practice 5: Refining Awareness

Practice 6: Cultivating Wisdom

Practice 7: Serving Others


Contents of the core book we use for group and self-study

Foreword by His Holiness the Dalai Lama


1.    Unveiling the Sacred
2.    Discovering the Seven Practices
3.    Using This Book
4.    Spiritual Practices: What Do They Do and How Do They Do It?

The Seven Practices

Practice One: Transform Motivation: Reduce Craving and Find Your Soul’s Desire

5.    The Secret of Happiness
6.    Exercises to Reduce Craving
7.    Find Your Soul’s Desire: Redirect Motivation
8.    Exercises to Redirect Desires
9.    The Higher Reaches of Desire

Practice Two: Cultivate Emotional Wisdom: Heal the Heart and Learn to Love

10.    The Gift of Love
11.    The Challenge of Difficult Emotions
12.    Reducing Fear and Anger
13.    Cultivate Love and Gratitude
14.    The Higher Reaches of Love

Practice Three: Live Ethically: Feel Good by Doing Good

15.    The Value of Virtue
16.    What is an Ethical Life?
17.    Exercises in Ethical Living
18.    The Higher Reaches of Ethical Life

Practice Four: Rest in Peace: Concentrate and Calm the Mind

19.    Your Meandering Mind
20.    Develop a Peaceful Mind
21.     The Higher Reaches of Concentration and Calm

Practice Five: Awaken Spiritual Vision: See Clearly and Recognize the Sacred In All Things

22.    The Healing Power of Awareness
23.    Exercises in Awareness
24.    Seeing the Sacred in All Things
25.    Exercises in Sacred Seeing
26.    The Higher Reaches of Vision

Practice Six: Cultivate Spiritual Intelligence:  Awakening Wisdom and Understanding Life

27.    What is Wisdom?
28.    Awakening Wisdom
29.    Exercises in Wisdom
30.    The Higher Reaches of Wisdom

Practice Seven: Express Spirit in Action: Generosity and the Joy of Service

31.    The Spirit of Service
32.    Developing a Generous Heart
33.    Exercises in Generosity and Service
34.    The Higher Reaches of Generosity
35.    Enjoy Your Self: Awakened Heart, Awakened Mind

© Roger Walsh 1999.

Recommended Reading

Roger Walsh : Essential Spirituality. The 7 Central Practices to Awaken Heart and Mind

© 2023 Spirit Gym : The Mindfulness-based Peer Support Network


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

error: Content is protected !!

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?